Poetry: The friend Within

The friend within

I cannot exactly remember how we became acquainted

Yet I took her in hurriedly like a long lost friend

She knew exactly what I needed, and how much of it to give

She walked with me along the scariest roads

As a companion, as a foe

As a guide, as a distraction

She talked me out of acting on my biggest dreams

Convincing me that there would be a better time to act

Like a guardian angel, she showed up in the moments I needed rescue

Like a wise companion, she explained to me gently

How I wasn’t enough, and how I wasn’t ready

She told me, that if I give it more time

I would still make it just in time

When I felt the regret of missed opportunities

She was armed with a load of words to console me

She offered temporary relief, making me feel great in my smallness

I must admit, she made a really safe companion

She knew when to stay close just as much as she knew how to withdraw

But the longer I walked with her, the more she wore me out

Our marriage de raison was on the rocks

Each moment of bliss was overshadowed by the impending regret in the shadows

I was puzzled, conflicted- was it me or her? Was I having trust issues?

I began to realize my treasured friend was the enemy sinking holes into the boat

As I sat by myself, reflecting, learning and searching for the strength within

I also began to wonder who she was, trying to put a name to her

In the hope that I could live with her longer

In an abrupt awakening, her identity came to the surface

Loud and clear, bold and highlighted

There she was…

Self-sabotage!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started